A celebration of Norbert's life will be held on campus at the University Club
(the former Faculty Club) on Friday, April 13, 6:00-8:00 pm. All are welcome. For further information, contact Mike Wallace at 206-543-7390.

Additional information on his life can be found at

Emeritus Professor Norbert Untersteiner passed away on March 14, 2012.
His key scientific contributions and his wonderful sense of humor were evident in a special celebration at UW hosted by the Department and his friends from around the world in November 2009. Here are some remembrances from that celebration.

November 18, 2009
Atmospheric Sciences Colloquium (ATM S 520), Dale Durran, Coordinator
Film Premier & Panel Discussion
Drifting Station Alpha in the Arctic
Norbert Untersteiner and Frans van der Hoeven
3:304:50 p.m., HUB 310

Featuring the world premiere of a new film by Norbert Untersteiner and Frans van der Hoeven documenting the trials and travails of Arctic Ice Station Alpha during the International Geophysical Year (IGY, 1957-58). Untersteiner introduced the film and talked more generally about how the IGY brought new vitality to the earth sciences at this university and throughout the world. The program concluded with a panel discussion of how our knowledge of Arctic sea ice has advanced over the 50 years since the IGY: What have we learned and what are the major unresolved issues?

Reception Presentation by Mike Wallace: Slide Show
Norbert King of the Ice

In Memory of Norbert Untersteiner (Polar Science Center)

Colloquium video:

For more information on International Geophysical Year, 1957 1958: Drifting Station Alpha documentary film, go to the NSIDC website at

Photos from reception:  
From left:
Brian Smoliak, Mark Zelinka, Dennis Hartmann, Dargan Frierson, and Mike Wallace (podium)
From left:
Brian Smoliak, Dennis Hartmann, Sandra Penny, Krystyna Untersteiner, Norbert Untersteiner, Dargan Frierson, Mark Zelinka
Members of the Blue Ice Ensemble:
Sandra Penny (fiddle), Brian Smoliak (drums), Mark Zelinka (guitar), Dennis Hartmann (bass), Dargan Frierson (banjo/mandolin)
From left:
Norbert Untersteiner, Bob Fleagle, Mike Wallace, Krystyna Untersteiner, and Mark Zelinka (background)